Discovery Bound Outreach – Virtual Talk by Laurance Doyle

Laurance DoyleCan Humpback Whales Help Us With the Search for Extraterrestrial Intelligence

WHAT: A 30-45 minute Zoom Webinar with time for Q&A following the talk.

DATE: Sunday, January 31st, 2021

TIME: 4:00pm PST,  5:00pm MST,  6:00pm CST,   7:00pm EST

NOTE: You will need to Register first on the Discovery Bound website to attend this Zoom Webinar.

 


About Dr. Laurance Doyle

Dr. Doyle was raised along the California coast in the small town of Cambria. He attended San Diego State University and after receiving his Bachelor and Master of Science degrees in astronomy, he worked as an engineer with the Voyager spacecrafts in the Space Image Processing Group at the NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory. He thereafter received his PhD from the University of Heidelberg in Germany in 1987 on radiative transfer modeling of Saturn’s rings using Voyager spacecraft imaging data. Since 1987 he has been a Principal Investigator with the SETI Institute in Mountain View, California where his main projects have been the photometric detection of extrasolar planets, and the application of information theory to animal communications.

He was a Member of the NASA Kepler Mission Science Team with responsibility for detection of extrasolar planets around double star systems and found the first such circumbinary planet. He has taught quantum physics, thermodynamics, introductory astronomy, history of science and Native American history at Principia College in Illinois, and was the Director of the Institute for the Metaphysics of Physics at Principia College from 2014 to 2019.

He has been a contributing editor for the Christian Science Sentinel, the Christian Science Journal, and the Christian Science Monitor and has addressed 21 Christian Science Associations in the US, Europe, Asia and Oceania.