2018 Annual Meeting – Texas Institutional Committee

Dear Friends across Texas,

The members of the Board of the State Institutional Committee are looking forward to meeting with everyone Saturday, October 6th at 8th Church of Christ, Scientist, Houston at 1 p.m.

Click HERE for a map

We are excited to have local volunteer chaplain George Nutwell as our guest speaker.  His talk is titled, “Sowing the Seeds of Truth in Jail.”

In addition to the reports from the Executive Secretary and Board Zone Representatives, volunteers from all over the state will be sharing their experiences.

We hope you can join the Board and all of the Institutional Committee volunteer chaplains coming together to share the gratitude for the wonderful work going on through the application and demonstration of Christian Science in the institutions around the state.

***If you’ve never met George before, here’s a quick bio!  

George, who grew up in Annapolis, MD, graduated from Principia College with a degree in Russian Studies in 1986. While at Principia, he played football and spent a quarter volunteering at the Pierre Marquette Youth Correctional Center. In 1987, George joined the U.S. Foreign Service where he served as a

Special Agent.

He was assigned to protect two Secretaries of State and served on an FBI Counter-Terrorism Task Force. During his career, he received a Masters Degree from the National Intelligence University and worked at American Embassies in Moscow, London, Almaty, Monrovia, Kyiv, Lima and Baghdad. He retired as a Senior Foreign Service Officer in 2014.  Shortly afterwards, he began his volunteer chaplain service in the Harris County Jail in Houston. He also corresponds with prison inmates and makes periodic visits. Aside from the prison ministry, George is active in his branch church, posts spiritual thoughts on social media and takes calls in the public practice of Christian Science. He and his family reside in Cypress, TX, just outside of Houston.

Board Members:

  • Eleanor Bigbie – Chair – At Large East
  • George Nutwell, Vice Chair – Houston Zone
  • Suzanne Davis – Austin Zone
  • Hal Shrewsbury, CS – San Antonio Zone
  • Patty Woodard, CS – DFW Zone
  • Shellie Evans – At Large West

Looking forward to seeing you there!

Elizabeth Arnett – Executive Secretary